training ride to ft pierce

I am now doing training rides. . Cycling is a great training for ultra swimming so I continue riding. My first training ride this winter was from Miami to Ft Pierce and back. It is a 320 mile ride up and down A1A. A1A is one of my favorite routes with beaches on one side and hotels restaurants and clubs on the other for 60 miles. The first stop was meeting other icelanders in fort lauderdale watching the icelandic soccer team play with turkey. the icelanders won. After the game I continued up A1A. Around Delrey beach around 40 miles in my right crank broke. It was dark and no hotels near. So I biked with just one crank for around 10 miles to the next hotel. The staff at the lobby there told me they were fully booked. I finally found a hotel 20 miles from the hotel and took a taxy there. The day after I made it to the next car rental and rented a car to Miami. So only 100 miles done but it was ok. Next will be key west ride from Miami to Key West and back

When I do this ride I use 3 hotels. More about hotels. Few years ago I did a list in my mind what I need from a hotel when cycling. Here is the list

1) A clean bed and room with no bugs.

2) Space for my bike and a hotel that allows me to keep my bike inside my room. Many hotels does not allow you to bring your bike in the room. I remember once the manager wanted to have my bike in his and his wife bedroom...

3) Shower.

4) for long rides washer and dryer

5) Vending machines 

The 3 hotels I use on this way are 

Motel 6 Dania beach. It fills all 5 requirements and is central to everywhere that I need to go. Easy to ride to us27 on my way to south florida randonneur rides in Clewiston. And not far from A1A on my Ft Pierce ride. 

Then I ride to Motel 6 ft pierce. It is a great hotel with soft beds and the rooms are bigger than usual. And next to it is a great BBQ restaurant with steaks during the day and full english breakfast in the morning. I love this place When I ride to Sebring or Orlando I use this hotel.

The 3rd hotel is Travelodge Fort Lauderdale beach. It is great hotel only 120 miles from Ft Pierce and has a breakfast included for getting ready for the last day home.

The restaurants on the way that I usually stop for coffee are

Lulu in the grove. My saturday post ride coffee shop

Georgios in Hollywood. They have Greek menu and great Crosants.

Starbucks fort lauderdale beach for coffee. 

Delray beach centre has 3 restaurants with good breakfast.

Ft Pierce BBQ restaurant above.

Then I stop at various gas stations on the way for water and gatorade. 


« Sķšasta fęrsla | Nęsta fęrsla »

Bęta viš athugasemd

Ekki er lengur hęgt aš skrifa athugasemdir viš fęrsluna, žar sem tķmamörk į athugasemdir eru lišin.

Um bloggiš

Jón Eggert Guðmundsson

Höfundur

Jón Eggert Guðmundsson
Jón Eggert Guðmundsson

I am doing 4155 mile triathlon. Longest triathlon in the world Guinness record. I am doing this to support #Wheelheroes 

Maķ 2024
S M Ž M F F L
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  

Nżjustu myndir

  • bird
  • day 1
  • 20171218 124425
  • 20171217 092923
  • 20171217 092923

Heimsóknir

Flettingar

  • Ķ dag (5.5.): 0
  • Sl. sólarhring: 1
  • Sl. viku: 1
  • Frį upphafi: 0

Annaš

  • Innlit ķ dag: 0
  • Innlit sl. viku: 1
  • Gestir ķ dag: 0
  • IP-tölur ķ dag: 0

Uppfęrt į 3 mķn. fresti.
Skżringar

Innskrįning

Ath. Vinsamlegast kveikiš į Javascript til aš hefja innskrįningu.

Hafšu samband